AHA!! I am vindicated by none less than Bill Gross of Pimco, who has just confirmed my theory that college, at least in this day and age, is a ruinously expensive waste of money, effort and time! 

<br>
Listen while you read to a (admittedly less-than-great) live recording of “A Shitty Day” taken from a recent performance.
<br>
Early July 2011
<br>
When I returned to the US a few years ago after about seven years of perfectly respectable employment in international economic development consulting in Tokyo and couldn’t find anything any better in my hometown of San Diego than THE most excremental, abusive non-entity of a job I’d even had in my life, I couldn’t help but wonder if I’d be doing considerably better if I had just dropped out of high school and got a job driving a garbage truck, and never bothered with spending an inordinate amount of time and effort obtaining three university degrees that I am still to this day struggling to pay off the student loans for.  That job was so extraordinarily shitty that on my way in, I would gaze enviously at the (probably undocumented) Latino day laborers toiling away in the searing summer heat shovelling manure into the beautifully manicured grounds around the big, fancy houses interspersed amongst the businesses in the mixed-use-zoned La Jolla neighborhood where I was effectively taken hostage for a suicidally miserable nine months, believing that I would actually be less unhappy doing that instead.
<br>
If I thought I was capable of learning to back up a garbage truck and accurately stick the forks into the holes on the sides of dumpsters instead of taking out the building behind the dumpster, I’d check in with Waste Management and see if they were hiring trainee drivers.  That didn’t, however, seem like a viable strategy given the number of people out of work or ridiculously underemployed, and my total lack of experience and skill in that form of employment.
<br>

So there I was with my three university degrees and international consulting career profile, trapped in a debt treadmill I despaired of ever getting out of with no viable prospects in sight, and stuck in the most wretched job of all time.  Perhaps if I had chosen a vocation-specific career path when I was 16 or 17, I’d probably own a house by now and be debt-free unless I drank the American credit card debt-addiction Kool-Aid and elected to be financially insolvent in spite of myself.

<br>

And here I am now, just as, if not even more, underwater than I was then, trying to make a viable go of it in the obviously (financially) inviable field of music!

